August 23, 2016

Penland Coordinators Featured in "Off The Clock" Show at Refinery Creator Space in Asheville NC

Now though September 16, 2016 - Off the Clock: Penland Studio Coordinator Show at  the Refinery Creator Space, 207 Coxe Avenue in Asheville NC.

Penland’s studio coordinators: Jay Fox, Susan Feagin, Nick Fruin, Ian Henderson,
Ellie Richards, Amanda Thatch, Betsy DeWitt, Daniel T. Beck
September 2 from 5 PM to 8 PM Artists' Reception. September 3 from 4 PM - 6 PM public talk. 

"OFF THE CLOCK features eight artists, all full-time studio coordinators at Penland School of Crafts in Penland, NC. The work on view here was made in the off-hours by friends and colleagues who see each other daily and exchange interests, affection, knowledge, and regard for each other. 

This is not a group show in the traditional sense. These artists are not strangers, and the works are not estranged from each other, despite their singular presences. Rather, looking from artist to artist, the viewer might pick up a magical sense that the works were made on the same set of evenings, in studios closeby. One of these artists might have looked up from her work and gazed out the cool, green window. She might have seen one of the other artists riding by on a bike, and waved." - curator and Penland friend Elaine Bleakney.

The job of a Penland studio coordinator is a many-faceted one. These eight coordinators order materials and keep studios clean and equipment running smoothly. They manage budgets and large inventories of supplies. They work with the programming office to plan upcoming workshops, and instructors to provide for specific classes, and individual students to solve problems on the fly. It’s a demanding and unpredictable job, which makes it all the more impressive that these eight individuals are also working artists in their own right. Penland is thrilled and proud that they have come together to put on a group show of their work at the Asheville Area Arts Council. Appropriately, the exhibition is called Off the Clock.

Clockwise from top left: Jay Fox, Ellie Richards, Amanda Thatch, Susan Feagin, Betsy DeWitt, Ian Henderson, Daniel T. Beck, Nick Fruin

No comments:

Post a Comment